ICTP-EAUMP School on Modern Functional Analysis

19 June - 7 July 2017 Nairobi, Kenya

The summer school is intended to provide a thorough introduction to various topics in functional analysis, from introductory to more advanced, and with a particular focus on functional analytic methods used in current research.

Description:

Two introductory courses in the first week will cover some of the fundamentals of functional analysis and of operator theory, before two more advanced courses in the second week will introduce ideas which establish a link between the methods of classical functional analysis and the modern theory of partial differential equations. Finally, the two courses in week three will expose participants to some more advanced topics which tie together the areas of functional analysis, differential equations and geometry.

The School is intended for advanced graduate students (M.Sc. and PhD) and young academic staff members from Eastern Africa and beyond. Participants should preferably have completed some years of study and research after a first degree. Senior academic members are also welcome to participate. The school will be conducted in English.

Topics:

- Introduction to function spaces;
- Introduction to operator theory;
- Advanced operator theory;
- The theory of operator semigroups and their applications;
- The Laplacian on a Riemannian manifold;
- · Distribution solutions to ordinary differential
- equations.



Mathematics Programme

Further information: Activity URL: http://indico.ictp.it/event/7977/ E-mail: smr3133@ictp.it

Local Organizing Committee:

J. Katende (University of Nairobi) D. Maingi (University of Nairobi)

- B. Nzimbi (University of Nairobi)
- J. Ongaro (University of Nairobi, Chair)
- P. Weke (University of Nairobi)

Scientific Coordinator:

D. Seifert (Oxford University, UK)

Scientific Advisory Committee:

L. Abrahamsson (University of Uppsala, Sweden) R. Bogvad (Stockholm University, Sweden) D. Maingi (University of Nairobi, Kenya) F. Rodriguez Villegas (ICTP) D. Ssevviiri (Makerere University, Uganda) B. Szendroi (University of Oxford, UK) P. Weke (University of Nairobi, Kenya)

EAUMP Country Coordinators:

M. Gahirima (University of Rwanda) J. Kasozi (Makerere University, Uganda) M. Lombe (University of Zambia) E. Mureithi (University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania) J. Ongaro (University of Nairobi, Kenya)

How to apply:

Online application: http://indico.ictp.it/event/7977/

Female scientists are encouraged to apply.

Grants:

Application is open to all mathematicians and graduate students from developing countries. Applicants from EAUMP member states will be given priority. We encourage participants to secure their own funding for travel and subsistence from their home institution. Limited funds are available for participants from Sub-Saharan African Countries. There is no registration fee. S. E. Rugeihyamu (Dar es Salaam University, Tanzania)

ICTP Scientific Contact:

C. Arezzo, ICTP

Deadline:

24 March 2017





The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics



www.ictp.it Strada Costiera 11, 34151 Trieste, Italy