Starts 11 Mar 2019
Ends 15 Mar 2019
Central European Time
Giambiagi Lecture Hall (AGH)
Via Grignano, 9 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)

Online application now open! Deadline for application: 2 December 2018 *



MAGENTA - MAGnetic nanoparticle based liquid ENergy materials for Theromoelectric device Applications.
MAGENTA project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 731976.
More information on MAGENTA website:


The purpose of this Conference is to bring together experts and active researches working on fundamentals of thermoelectricity, new thermoelectric materials and applications.
Tutorial lectures by experts in  field are planned in the beginning of each topical session.
There is no registration fee.


Thermoelectricity is now a subject of rising interest caused by the fundamental significance, technological development in creating new materials and applications both in physics and engineering. The purpose of this Conference is to bring together experts in fundamentals of thermoelectricity as well as those of materials science and applications.

The list of topics to be discussed includes:

• Seebeck effect as a tool for studying topological transformations of the Fermi surface in heavy fermion systems and other materials

• Thermoelectric and thermo-spin-related phenomena in Dirac and Weil materials

• Thermoelectric and thermomagnetic phenomena in nanodevices

• Thermo-electric and thermomagnetic phenomena in superconductors

• Anomalous Nernst effect and the Berry phase

• Figure of merit and the ways to increase it

• New materials: nanostructured metals (bismuth chalcogenides, half Heusler alloys, oxide compounds, silicon-germanium alloys)

• Specifics of the Seebeck effect in electrolytes

• Thermo-electrochemical reactions

• Thermo-electrodiffusion in soft condensed matter

• Applications of thermoelectricity in engineering

Preliminary list of speakers

Kamran BEHNIA, ESPCI Paris
Maciej BOBROWSKI, Gdansk University of Technology
Jorge GARCÍA-CAÑADAS, Universitat Jaume I, Spain
Xavier CRISPIN, Linköping University
Benoit FAUQUÉ, ESPCI Paris
Yuri GALPERIN, University of Oslo
Andreas GLATZ, Argonne National Laboratory/NIU
Christophe GOUPIL, Université Paris Diderot
Valeriy GUSYNIN, Bogolyubov Inst. for Theoretical Physics
Koichi IZAWA, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Ahron KAPITULNIK, Stanford University
Herbert KEPPNER, Haute Ecole-Arc, Switzerland
Georg KNEBEL, CEA Grenoble
Yo MACHIDA, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Laurence MOLENKAMP, University of Würzburg
Yukka PEKOLA, Aalto University, Finland
Régine PERZYNSKI, Sorbonne Université
Vladimir PUDALOV, Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow
Mauro SGROI, Centro Ricerche Fiat, Italy
Sergei SHARAPOV, Bogolyubov Inst. for Theoretical Physics
Valerii SHIKIN, Institute of Solid State Physics,Chernogolovka
Simone WIEGAND, Forschungszentrum Jülich
Alois WÜRGER, Université de Bordeaux
Zengwei ZHU, Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology
Veljko ZLATIC, Institute of Physics, Zagreb

- - -



Vladimir Kravtsov (ICTP), Alexandre Pourret (CEA Grenoble), Sawako Nakamae (CEA Paris), Kalliopi Trohidou (NCSR Demokritos, Athens), Andrey Varlamov (SPIN-CNR, Rome), Local Organiser: Antonello Scardicchio