Conference on Modern Concepts and New Materials for **Thermoelectricity**



11 - 15 March 2019 **Trieste, Italy**

Thermoelectricity is now a subject of rising interest for its fundamental significance, its tecnological development in creating new materials, and its applications both in physics and engineering. The purpose of this conference is to bring together experts in fundamentals of thermoelectricity as well as those of materials science and applications.

Topics:

- Seebeck effect as a tool for studying topological transformations of the Fermi surface
- Thermoelectric and thermospin phenomena in Dirac and Weyl materials
- Thermoelectric and thermomagnetic phenomena in nanodevices
- Thermoelectric and thermomagnetic phenomena in superconductors
- Anomalous Nernst effect and the Berry phase
- Figure of merit and the ways to increase it
- New materials: nanostructured metals (bismuth) chalcogenides, half Heusler alloys, oxide compounds, silicon-germanium alloys)
- Specifics of Seebeck effect in electrolytes
- Thermo-electrochemical reactions
- Thermo-electrodiffusion in soft condensed matter
- Applications of thermoelectricity in engineering

How to apply:

Online application: http://indico.ictp.it/event/8646/

Female scientists are encouraged to apply.

Grants:

A limited number of travel grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.





Magenta has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 731976

Directors:

Further information:

smr3269@ictp.it

http://indico.ictp.it/event/8646/

V. KRAVTSOV, ICTP

S. NAKAMAE, CEA Saclay

A. POURRET, CEA Grenoble

K. TROHIDOU, NCSR "Demokritos", Athens

A. VARLAMOV, SPIN-CNR, Rome

Local Organizer:

A. SCARDICCHIO

Speakers:

K. BEHNIA, ESPCI Paris

K. BHATTACHARYA, CEA Saclay

M. BOBROWSKI, Gdansk University of Technology

J. GARCÍA-CAÑADAS, Universidad Jaume I, Spain

X. CRISPIN, Linköping University

B. FAUQUÉ, ESPCI Paris

Yu. GALPERIN, University of Oslo

A. GLATZ, Argonne National Laboratory/NIU

C. GOUPIL, Université Paris Diderot

V. GUSYNIN, Bogolyubov Inst. for Theoretical Physics

K. IZAWA, Tokyo Institute of Technology

A. KAPITULNIK, Stanford University

H. KEPPNER, Haute Ecole-Arc, Switzerland

M. KISELEV, ICTP

G. KNEBEL, CEA Grenoble

Ya. KOPELEVICH, UNICAMP, Brazil

Y. MACHIDA, Tokyo Institute of Technology

L. MOLENKAMP, University of Würzburg

J. PEKOLA, Aalto University, Finland

R. PERZYNSKI, Sorbonne Université V. PUDALOV, Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow

M. SGROI, Centro Ricerche Fiat, Italy

S. SHARAPOV, Bogolyubov Inst. for Theoretical Physics

V. SHIKIN, Institute of Solid State Physics, Chernogolovka

S. WIEGAND, Forschungszentrum Jülich

A. WÜRGER, Université de Bordeaux

Z. ZHU, Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology

V. ZLATIC, Institute of Physics, Zagreb

Deadline:

2 December 2018



