ICTP has awarded its 2018 Dirac Medal and Prize to three distinguished physicists — Subir Sachdev of Harvard University, Dam Thanh Son of the University of Chicago, and Xiao-Gang Wen of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology—for their independent contributions toward understanding novel phases in strongly interacting many-body systems, introducing original cross-disciplinary techniques.
ICTP's Dirac Medal, first awarded in 1985, is given in honor of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of ICTP. It is awarded annually on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics. The 2018 Dirac Medal Award Ceremony will take place on Thursday 28 March 2019. The detailed programme for the ceremony will follow.

See the detailed feature article for more information on the 2018 awardees at:
Go to day