





School on Advanced Techniques on Radiotherapy, IMRT, IGRT and VMAT (Escuela de Técnicas Avanzadas en Radioterapia IMRT, IGRT y VMAT)

Guatemala City, Guatemala, 7 - 11 October 2013







The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP, Italy) and the Asociación Guatemalteca de Física (AGF) are jointly organizing a school with the above mentioned title, to be held in Guatemala City from 7 to 11 October 2013. Experienced medical physics professors and researchers will guide participants during the plenary sessions.

PURPOSE OF THE SCHOOL

Medical physics has had a fast progress in the last decades, achieving a better conformation with the latest advancements in technology. However these developments require higher standards for quality assurance in every process related to medical physics activities.

Latin America has been lagged behind this improvement, but the expectation of our countries is to implement new treatment modalities in their treatment centres. Some of these countries have very modern and updated facilities and equipment located in a few centres. This School considers it necessary to inform and report issues of great interest for new treatment modalities to the recent and future users of these technologies.

TOPICS

Technological development (IMRT, IGRT and VMAT); Commissioning and evaluation; Imaging for target volume determination in radiotherapy; Implementing: concept and workflow; Inverse planning; Positioning Images, kV, MV, CBCT; Radiobiological considerations in VMAT; Patient specific QA and streamlining the process; ICRU margins and volumes (ICRU 83); Cases: Prostate, Head and Neck, Lung.

PARTICIPATION

This course seeks to target clinical radiotherapy medical physicists with experience in 2D, 3D radiotherapy either plan a transition to some modulated technique in the near future or have a few years using modulated radiotherapy. It will also introduce medical physicists who are familiar with 3D CRT to modulated techniques implementation. Scientists and students from all countries which are members of the United Nations, UNESCO or IAEA may attend the School.

As it is focused mainly to Latin American countries, it will be conducted in Spanish. Participants should have an adequate working knowledge of this language, but all the conferences will have English simultaneous translation.

Although the main purpose of the School is to help research workers from developing countries, through a programme of training activities within a framework of international cooperation, students and post-doctoral scientists from developed countries are also welcome to attend.

As a rule, travel and subsistence expenses of the participants should be borne by the home institution. Every effort should be made by candidates to secure support for their fare (or at least half-fare). However, limited funds are available for some participants from Latin American countries to be selected by the organizers to provide them full fare, accommodation and meals. Participants coming from countries outside Latin America will have only accommodation and meals. There is no registration fee for the school.

HOW TO APPLY FOR PARTICIPATION

The application form can be accessed at the activity website:

http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?2513

Once in the website, comprehensive instructions will guide you step-by-step, on how to fill out and submit the application form.

DEADLINE for submitting application form: 7 June 2013

ACTIVITY SECRETARIAT:

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) (SMR 2513), Strada Costiera 11, I-34151 Trieste, Italy

Telephone: +39-040-2240455 Telefax: +39-040-2240-7455 E-mail: smr2513@ictp.it

ICTP Home Page: http://www.ictp.it/

DIRECTORS Milton Ixquiac

Asociación Guatemalteca de Física Hope Radiotherapy, Guatemala

Marcelo Ixquiac-Cabrera

Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala Asociación Guatemalteca de Física

Luciano Bertocchi

ICTP, Italy

Yakov Pipman AAPM, USA

LOCAL ORGANIZER

J. Niemela ICTP, Italy

SPEAKERS

Jacob Van Dyk

Dante Roa

Mari Cruz Lizuain

Maria Ester Brandam

Yakov Pipman

Jimmy Hernández

CO-SPONSORS





















DEADLINE: June 7, 2013