



# **Conference on Frontiers of Nanoscience**

24 August – 1 September 2015 (Miramare - Trieste, Italy)

Investigating fundamental properties of condensed matter at nanoscales is absolutely necessary for future technological advances in micro- and nano- electronics. The conference we propose here would be a central event in 2015 for spreading the knowledge and intensifying the research efforts in most promising directions of nanoscience.

Our goal is to bring together internationally renowned experts and most active researchers to address most topical experimental and theoretical issues in the field of nanoelectronics. As this field holds the key to future electronic technologies, it is important to keep scientists from developing countries on top of the recent advances in the field. To this end, we plan lectures/seminars to focus mostly on educational purposes, serving the needs of young scientists (PhD students, postdocs, lecturers) from developing countries. Alongside with regular lectures, we will organize several poster sessions, including short oral presentation in advance, to give an opportunity for young scientists to present their recent findings.

### Topics

- quantum transport in nanostructures
- graphene and graphene-based nanoelectronics
- topological states of matter
- many-body localization, ergodicity and multifractality
- new phases in quantum atomic and molecular gases
- quantum control of multi-qubit solid-state systems
- non-equilibrium phenomena and noise
- disorder and single-impurity effects in low-dimensional nanostructures
- metal-insulator and superconductor-insulator transitions in low- dimensional electron systems

### **Speakers and Session Convenors**

Oded Agam Igor Aleiner Alexander Altland Anton Andreev Denis M. Basko **Richard Berkovits** Natalia Berloff Norman O. Birge Eugene Bogomolnyi Serguei Brazovskii John T. Chalker Vadim Cheianov Andrey V. Chubukov Nigel Cooper Konstantin B. Efetov Alexei Efros Giuseppe Falci Lara Faoro Sergej Flach Peter Fulde Yuri M. Galperin Yuval Gefen Michael Gershenson Thierry Giamarchi Leonid I. Glazman Mike Gunn

Lev Ioffe Mats Jonson Alex Kamenev Aharon Kapitulnik Alexey Kavokin Natasha Kirova Steven Kivelson



Andrew Millis Alberto Morpurgo Viatcheslav Mukhanov Alexander Nersesyan Miguel Ortuño Zvi Ovadyahu Elisabetta Paladino Alexander Palevski Yuri Pashkin Michael Pepper Natalia Perkins Valery Pokrovsky Alexander Polyakov Yuriy G. Rubo Dan Shahar Robert Shekhter Georgy Shlyapnikov Ady Stern Jaw-Shen Tsai Alexei Tsvelik Andrey A. Varlamov Hans-Arwed Weidenmüller Amir Yacoby Vladimir Yudson Emil Yuzbashyan Anvar Zakhidov

## ARNOLD SOMMERFELD

**CENTER** FOR THEORETICAL PHYSICS



### COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK



### Directors

V. I. Falko (Manchester University, UK)

R. Fazio (Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa, Italy)

I. V. Lerner (University of Birmingham, UK)

Leo Kouwenhoven Leonid Levitov Peter Littlewood Daniel Loss Dmitrii L. Maslov Konstantin Matveev

C. M. Marcus (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

> B. D. Simons (Cambridge University, UK)

J. von Delft (Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich, Germany)

#### **Local Organizers**

V. Kravtsov (ICTP, Trieste, Italy)

A. Scardicchio (ICTP, Trieste, Italy)

## Dedicated to Boris Altshuler's 60th birthday