Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 4 Dec 2023
Ends 8 Dec 2023
Central European Time
Budinich Lecture Hall (LB)
Strada Costiera, 11 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)

An ICTP meeting in person

In collaboration with the Simons Foundation

The conference aims to bring together communities working on quantum fluids such as spin liquids, unconventional superconductors, and fractional quantum Hall states where emergent gauge fields, fractionalization, and topological order, all of which find their root in the RVB paradigm, play the pivotal role.

Founded nearly fifty years ago, the concept of resonating valence bonds (RVBs) for Mott insulators established a paradigm which branched out throughout correlated electron systems and adjacent fields. Looking at the frontier of contemporary condensed matter physics, several directions of quantum fluid states have surfaced where emergent gauge fields, fractionalization, and topological order, all of which find their root in the RVB paradigm, play the pivotal role. It spans across a plethora of topics as diverse as spin liquids, unconventional superconductors, and fractional quantum Hall effect. In this conference, we aim at bringing these communities together, using the RVB paradigm as the common thread between them. As such, we aim at reaching an interactive exchange between those different subfields, and thus a stimulating environment for creating new ideas. Keeping in mind the current trends, we plan to cover the following exciting directions:

  • Kitaev Spin Liquids – models and materials
  • Pyrochlore magnets
  • Cuprate Superconductors
  • Sachdev-Ye-Kitaev (SYK) model
  • Kagome magnets
  • Fractional Quantum Hall effect and Chiral spin liquids
I. AFFLECK, University of British Columbia, Canada
F. ASSAAD, University of Wurzburg, Germany
S. BANERJEE, IISc Bangalore, India
F. BECCA, University of Trieste, Italy
S. BHATTACHARJEE, ICTS Bangalore, India  
C. BROHOLM, Johns Hopkins University, USA
Z. CHENG GU, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
A. CHUBUKOV,University of Minnesota, USA
K. DAMLE, TIFR Mumbai, India  
H. DING, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
B. DOUÇOT, LPTHE Paris, France  
N. DRICHKO, Johns Hopkins University, USA
B. GAULIN, McMaster University, Canada  
M. GINGRAS,  University of Waterloo, Canada
M. GREITER, University of Würzburg, Germany
S. HARAVIFARD, Duke University, USA
M. H. JULIEN, LNCMI Grenoble, France
M. HERMELE, University of Colorado, USA
G. JACKELI, University of Stuttgart, Germany
D. JOSHI, TIFR-Hyderabad, India   
R. KAUL*, Penn State University, USA
H. Y. KEE*, University of Toronto, Canada
G. KHALIULLIN, MPIFKF Stuttgart, Germany  
Y.-B. KIM, University of Toronto, Canada
B.-J. KIM*, KAIST, Korea   
M. LAAD, IMSc Chennai, India  
B. LAKE, Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, Germany
A. LÄUCHLI, EPFL & PSI, Switzerland
S. MANDAL, IOP Bhubaneswar, India  
Y. MATSUDO, Kyoto University, Japan
P. MENDELS, LPS Orsay, France  
Z. MENG, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
F. MILA, EPFL, Switzerland   
R. MOESSNER, MPIPKS Dresden, Germany  
N. PERKINS, University of Minnesota, USA
D. POILBLANC, LPT Toulouse, France  
F. POLLMANN, TU Munich, Germany  
J. REUTHER, Freie University Berlin, Germany
H. RØNNOW, EPFL, Switzerland   
A. SANDVIK, Boston University, USA  
L. SAVARY, ENS Lyon, France
M. SCHEURER, University of Innsbruck, Austria
U. SCHOLLWÖCK, LMU Munich, Germany  
A. SEN, IACS Kolkata, India
K. SENGUPTA, IACS Kolkata, India
S. SHASTRY, University of Santa Cruz, USA
O. STARYKH, University of Utah, USA
H. TAKAGI, MPIFKF Stuttgart, Germany  
S. TREBST*, University of Cologne, Germany
A. VISHWANATH*, Harvard University, USA  
M. VOJTA, TU Dresden, Germany  
Z. YANG MENG, The University of Hong Kong
H. YAO, Tsinghua University, China
M. YE, University of Utah, USA  
Y. ZHANG, Johns Hopkins University, USA

*To be confirmed

Call for Contributed Abstracts: All applicants are encouraged to submit an abstract for a poster presentation. Abstract templates are available below for download.

Grants: A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.
Deadline for applicants requesting financial and/or visa support is 30 June 2023; deadline for all other applicants is 31 August 2023.
**DEADLINE: 31/08/2023**


Ganapathy BASKARAN (Scientific Advisor) (IIT Madras, India), Yasir IQBAL (Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India), Subir SACHDEV (Harvard University, USA), Ronny THOMALE (University of Würzburg, Germany), Local Organiser: Marcello Dalmonte (ICTP)