Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 14 Aug 2023
Ends 25 Aug 2023
Central European Time
Hanoi - Viet Nam

This school is organised in partnership with the Clay Mathematics Institute and is also supported by a grant from the IMU-CDC Conference Support Program, which is partially supported by the Abel Board.

The school gives an ideal platform for advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and early-career mathematicians to learn the basics of differential geometry in close connection with recent breakthrough developments. Concrete topics include Kähler geometry, Ricci curvature, geometric convergence, and minimal surfaces.
Differential geometry is among the most active fields in mathematics with fundamental connections to physics and other sciences. Indeed, J. Douglas was awarded the first Fields Medal for his remarkable contribution to the study of minimal surfaces in Euclidean space. Today the field is as exciting and vibrant as ever. For example, the resolutions of Willmore’s and Lawson's conjectures bring new insights and revitalize old techniques. This summer school would allow experts in the field to gather, share ideas, and pass on their knowledge to the next generations.
Clay lecturer:

A. NEVES, University of Chicago, USA

Clay Early Career Researcher
T. BUTTSWORTH, University of Queensland, Australia

Principal Lecturers:
B. ALLEN, CUNY Lehman College, USA
A. NEVES, University of Chicago, USA
A. PULEMOTOV, University of Queensland, Australia
G. WEI, The University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB), USA

Brainstorm Session:
T. BUTTSWORTH, University of Queensland, Australia
N.T. DUNG, Vietnam National University, Hanoi
N.M. HOANG, Vietnam National University, Hanoi
T.T. HUNG, Texas Tech University, USA

For more information please see VIASM school web page.

Grants: A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.


C. AREZZO (ICTP, Italy), L.M. HA (VIASM, Vietnam), N.T. DUNG (Vietnam National University, Hanoi, Vietnam), T.T. HUNG (Texas Tech University, USA), ICTP Scientific Contact: Claudio Arezzo (ICTP)