Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 1 Jul 2024
Ends 5 Jul 2024
Central European Time
Giambiagi Lecture Hall (AGH)
Strada Costiera, 11 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)

An ICTP Meeting

Arithmetic geometry is a very active and important research area in modern mathematics. It includes topics of number theory, algebraic geometry, mathematical physics and algebra among others. The purpose of this conference is to gather experts on topics related to arithmetic geometry, in a broad sense, with specific emphasis on problems related to properties of algebraic varieties.

The expositions will cover topics including:
  • central values of L-series (and their connection to Mahler measure of polynomials)
  • new instances of mirror symmetry
  • computations and properties of motives (as introduced by Grothendieck to describe the cohomology essence of a variety)

Philip CANDELAS, University of Oxford, UK
Xenia DE LA OSSA, University of Oxford, UK
Alicia DICKENSTEIN, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Ahmad EL-GUINDY, Cairo University, Egypt
Tony EZOME, École Normale Supérieure, Libreville, Gabon
Paul GUNNELS, University of Massachusetts, USA
Farshid HAJIR, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA
Tamás HAUSEL, ISTA, Austria
María Inés ICAZA PÉREZ, University of Talca, Chile
Matilde LALÍN, Université de Montréal, Canada
Emmanuel LETELLIER, Université Denis-Diderot, France
Anton MELLIT, University of Vienna, Austria
Martín MEREB, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Ariel PACETTI, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Amalia PIZARRO MADARIAGA, University of Valparaíso, Chile
Danylo RADCHENKO, University of Lille, France
David ROBERTS, University of Minnesota, Morris, USA
Adriana SALERNO, NSF and Bates College, USA
Cecília SALGADO GUIMARÃES DA SILVA, University of Groningen, Netherlands
Gonzalo TORNARÍA, Universidad de la República, Uruguay

Grants: A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.
**DEADLINE: 14/04/2024**


Tarig Abdelgadir (Loughborough University, UK), Matilde Lalin (Université de Montréal, Canada), Ariel Pacetti (University of Aveiro, Portugal), Adriana Salerno (NSF and Bates College, USA), Local Organiser: Lothar Goettsche (ICTP)