P.A.M. DIRAC (1902-1984)

Paul Adrien Maurice Dirac was born in Bristol, England, on 8 August 1902. He studied engineering in his hometown, and obtained his 1902. He studied engineering in his hometown, and obtained his degree in physics and mathematics at Cambridge University, where in 1932 he became professor of mathematics in the Lucasian Chair, which had been held by Sir Isaac Newton two centuries earlier. After his retirement, Professor Dirac went to live in Tallahassee, Florida, where he taught at Florida State University from 1971 until his death on 20 October 1984.

A member of the Royal Society since 1930, he won the Royal Medal in 1939 and the Copley Medal in 1952. Professor Dirac shared the Nobel Prize for Physics with Erwin Schrödinger in 1933. He invented the well-known relativistic wave equation predicting the existence of spin and of the positron when he was only 23 years old. His further work includes his formulations of quantum field theory, statistics of fields and particles, gravitational waves and the prediction of magnetic monopoles.

Dirac first came to Trieste in June 1968 on the occasion of the International Symposium on Contemporary Physics, at which he delivered a lecture on the methods of theoretical physics. After this symposium, Dirac was a guest of honour at the Centre for a month or so nearly every year. In 1972, at a symposium on The Physicists' Conception of Nature organized in honour of Dirac on the occasion of his 70th birthday, he gave a lecture on Fundamental Constants and their Development in Time. Dirac also attended the Marcel Grossman Meeting held at the Centre on the centennial of the birth of Albert Einstein in 1979.

Abdus Salam, who proposed the institution of the Dirac Medal, was Dirac's student at Cambridge and it was after having listened to Dirac's lectures that he decided to devote his life to research rather than becoming a civil servant in his country. He remained in touch with his master and became his friend.



2023 Dirac Medal Award Ceremony

24 April 2024 ICTP Budinich Lecture Hall 14:00







THE 2023 DIRAC MEDAL AND PRIZE

ICTP awarded its 2023 Dirac Medal to four distinguished physicists "for their pioneering contributions to perturbative and non-perturbative string theory and quantum gravity, in particular, to the aspects related to anomalies, duality, black holes and holography".

The 2023 Dirac Medallists are:

- Jeffrey Harvey, University of Chicago, USA
- Igor Klebanov, Princeton University, USA
- Stephen Shenker, Stanford University, USA
- Leonard Susskind, Stanford University, USA

CEREMONY PROGRAMME

Welcome remarks:

Prof. Atish Dabholkar, ICTP Director

Keynote speech:

H.E. Ambassador **Jean Manes**, U.S. Permanent Representative to UNESCO

Medallists Lectures:

"Simple Questions with Complicated Answers" **Prof. Jeffrey Harvey**

"Gauge/String Duality, Confinement, and Dimensional Transmutation" **Prof. Igor Klebanov**

"Quantum Gravity and Quantum Chaos" Prof. Stephen Shenker*

"Black Holes and the Foundations of Mathematics" **Prof. Leonard Susskind***

Question and answer session

Moderated by Agnese Bissi, Research Scientist, HECAP

Light refreshments will be served on the terrace after the event.

* online participation