P.A.M. DIRAC (1902-1984)

Paul Adrien Maurice Dirac was born in Bristol, England, on 8 August 1902. He studied engineering in his hometown, and obtained his degree in physics and mathematics at Cambridge University, where in 1932 he became professor of mathematics in the Lucasian Chair, which had been held by Sir Isaac Newton two centuries earlier. After his retirement, Professor Dirac went to live in Tallahassee, Florida, where he taught at Florida State University from 1971 until his death on 20 October 1984.

A member of the Royal Society since 1930, he won the Royal Medal in 1939 and the Copley Medal in 1952. Professor Dirac shared the Nobel Prize for Physics with Erwin Schrödinger in 1933. He invented the well-known relativistic wave equation predicting the existence of spin and of the positron when he was only 23 years old. His further work includes his formulations of quantum field theory, statistics of fields and particles, gravitational waves and the prediction of magnetic monopoles.

Dirac first came to Trieste in June 1968 on the occasion of the International Symposium on Contemporary Physics, at which he delivered a lecture on the methods of theoretical physics. After this symposium, Dirac was a guest of honour at the Centre for a month or so nearly every year. In 1972, at a symposium on The Physicists' Conception of Nature organized in honour of Dirac on the occasion of his 70th birthday, he gave a lecture on Fundamental Constants and their Development in Time. Dirac also attended the Marcel Grossman Meeting held at the Centre on the centennial of the birth of Albert Einstein in 1979.

Abdus Salam, who proposed the institution of the Dirac Medal, was Dirac's student at Cambridge and it was after having listened to Dirac's lectures that he decided to devote his life to research rather than becoming a civil servant in his country. He remained in touch with his master and became his friend.



2024 Dirac Medal Ceremony

2 April 2024 ICTP Budinich Lecture Hall 14:00







THE 2024 DIRAC MEDAL AND PRIZE

ICTP awarded its 2024 Dirac Medal to four distinguished physicists "for their insights on quantum entropy in gravity and quantum field theories".

The 2024 Dirac Medallists are:

- Horacio Casini, National Scientific and Technical Council (CONICET) and Bariloche Atomic Centre, Argentina
- Marina Huerta, National Scientific and Technical Council (CONICET) and Bariloche Atomic Centre, Argentina
- Shinsei Ryu, Princeton University, United States
- Tadashi Takayanagi, Kyoto University, Japan

CEREMONY PROGRAMME

Welcome remarks:

Prof. Atish Dabholkar, ICTP Director

Keynote speech:

H.E. Ambassador Takehiro Kano, Permanent Representative of Japan to UNESCO

Medallists Lectures:

"The Bekenstein Bound and Its Meaning"
Prof. Horacio Casini

"Entanglement Entropy and the Renormalization Group Flow" Prof. Marina Huerta

"Quantum Many-Body Physics Through the Lens of Quantum Entanglement"

Prof. Shinsei Ryu

"Quantum Entanglement and Spacetime in Gravity"
Prof. Tadashi Takayanagi

Question and answer session

Moderated by Bobby Acharya, Senior Research Scientist, HECAP

Light refreshments will be served on the terrace after the event.