Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 22 Oct 2018
Ends 2 Nov 2018
Central European Time
Addis Ababa -

N. CHETTY, University of Pretoria, South Africa
R. MARTIN, Stanford University, U.S.A.
S. NARASIMHAN, JNCASR Bangalore, India
S. SCANDOLO, ICTP, Trieste, Italy
N. SERIANI, ICTP, Trieste, Italy

Local Organizer:
T. YOHANNES, AASTU, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

ICTP contacts:
S. SCANDOLO, ICTP, Trieste, Italy
N. SERIANI, ICTP, Trieste, Italy

The Schools provide an introdution to the theory of electronic structure and other atomistic simulation methods, with an emphasis on the computational methods for practical calculations.
The African School series on Electronic Structure Methods and Applications is planned on a biennial basis from 2010 to 2020.  Previous schools were held in Cape Town, South Africa (2010), Eldoret, Kenya (2012), Johannesburg, South Africa (2015) and Accra, Ghana (2016).

The School will also cover basic and advanced topics and applications of these methods to the structural, mechanical and optical properties of materials.

The School will include hands-on tutorial sessions based on public license codes (including, but not limited to, the Quantum Espresso package).
During the second week, students will be asked to split up in teams and work on specific projects under the guidance of the lecturers and mentors.

Please note that funds from the Joint Undertaking for an African Materials Institute (JUAMI) are also available for US students.

Invited Speakers:
  • G. AMOLO, TU Kenya, Nairobi
  • M. CASIDA, Universite' Grenoble Alpes, Saint-Martin-d'Heres, France
  • M. GATTI, ETSF, LSI - CNRS, Palaiseau, France
  • G. GEBREYESUS, University of Ghana
  • E. LUIJTEN, Northwestern McCormick Sch. of Eng., Evanston, U.S.A.
  • D. MAGERO, University of Eldoret, Kenya
  • A. MARINI, ISM, Rome, Italy
  • R. MAEZONO, JAIS, Ishikawa, Japan
  • S. NARASIMHAN, JNCASR Bangalore, India
  • Y. SHAIDU, SISSA, Trieste, Italy
**DEADLINE: 15/07/2018**


N. Chetty (University of Pretoria, South Africa), R. Martin (Stanford University, USA), S. Narasimhan (JNCASR, Bangalore, India), S. Scandolo (ICTP, Trieste, Italy), N. Seriani (ICTP, Trieste, Italy), T. Yohannes (AASTU, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia), ICTP Scientific Contact: S. Scandolo, N. Seriani