Scientific Calendar Event

The 2018 ICTP Prize Ceremony will take place on Wednesday 9 January at 16.30 hrs in the Budinich Lecture Hall on the ICTP Campus, Miramare and takes place during the 19th International Workshop on Computational Physics and Material Science: Total Energy and Force Methods (smr 3266). ICTP has awarded its 2018 ICTP Prize to Luis E.F. Foà Torres of the University of Chile, Santiago, Chile, and to Hongjun Xiang of Fudan University, Shanghai, China. The Prize recognizes their independent contributions to the theoretical advancement of condensed matter physics of modern solid-state materials, including low dimensional and nanoscale systems.

Luis E.F. Foà Torres will give a talk on "Using light as a topological switch" and Hongjun Xiang will give a talk on "Theoretical studies on new mechanisms of ferroelectricity and multiferroicity".

Abstracts for the talks are available in the detailed programme at:

Each year, the ICTP Prize is given in honor of a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the field in which the prize is given. The 2018 ICTP Prize is given in honour of Kun Huang (1919-2005), the renowned theoretical physicist who is a father of condensed matter and semiconductor physics in China. Huang had been a student of Nevill Mott at Bristol University and a postdoc of Nobel Laureate Max Born at Liverpool University before returning to China in 1951.
Full details are in the Programme for the Ceremony.
The Ceremony will be livestreamed from the ICTP website and refreshments will be served after the events.
All are most welcome to attend.

Related feature article available at:
Go to day