Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 25 May 2020
Ends 29 May 2020
Central European Time
Kastler Lecture Hall (AGH)
via Grignano, 9 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)
Note: ICTP has suspended all educational activities from 24 February up to 26 June as precautionary measures due to COVID-19; more details at

The purpose of the Workshop is to bring together scientists working on the characterization of electrochemical interfaces at the atomistic level, and developing characterization methods, to discuss developments, current challenges, and perspectives.

The workshop is dedicated to the characterization of electrochemical interfaces by means of advanced experimental and theoretical techniques. The focus will be on the understanding at atomic level of interface structure and stability, charge dynamics and charge transfer, chemical adsorption and reactivity. Space will be devoted to advances in interface-sensitive characterization techniques. Consequences of the progress in the field will be discussed in the context of applications to catalysis, energy conversion and storage, and environmental remediation.

•    Atomic structure of electrochemical interfaces
•    Charge dynamics and charge transfer
•    Electrochemical reactions at interfaces
•    Interface-sensitive experimental techniques
•    Computer simulations of electrochemical interfaces

Applicants should submit a title and abstract for a poster to be presented at the workshop. Title and abstract of accepted posters will be publicly available.

R. KRAMER CAMPEN, Fritz Haber Institute, Germany
K. CHAN, Technical University of Denmark  
J. CHENG, Xiamen University, China
A. COWAN, Liverpool University, UK
T. CUK, University of Colorado Boulder, USA  
J. DURRANT, Imperial College London, UK  
M.-P. GAIGEOT, University Paris Saclay, France
J. GIBBS, University of Alberta, Canada  
A. GROSS, University of Ulm, Germany  
M. IANNUZZI, University of Zürich, Switzerland
T. E. JONES, Fritz Haber Institute, Germany  
J. LIBUDA, University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany  
W. LIU, Fudan University, China
N. MARZARI, EPFL, Switzerland  
A. PASQUARELLO, EPFL, Switzerland  
D. PRENDERGAST, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA  
B. ROLDAN CUENYA, Fritz Haber Institute, Germany
K. ROSSO, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
R. SCHLÖGL, Fritz Haber Institute, Germany
M. SPRIK, University of Cambridge, UK
P. STRASSER, TU Berlin, Germany  
J. TANG, University College London, UK
F. M. TOMA, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
M. TODOROVA, MPI for Iron Research, Germany  
R. VAN DE KROL, Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, Germany

A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.



Simone Piccinin (CNR-IOM, Italy), Marialore Sulpizi (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany), Nicola Seriani (ICTP), Local Organiser: Ralph Gebauer