*** POSTPONED to 2023 ***

Note: ICTP has suspended all educational activities from 24 February up to 26 June as precautionary measures due to COVID-19; more details at

ICTP-EAIFR DSU2020 web page:

The Dark Side of the Universe (DSU) is a series of international workshops in cosmology and astro-particle physics.  The workshops bring together a wide range of theorists and experimentalists to discuss current ideas on models of the dark sector of the Universe, and relate them to ongoing and future experiments.  The 16th event of the series will be hosted by ICTP-EAIFR in Kigali, Rwanda from 13 to 17 July 2020.

Topics covered include:
  • dark matter
  • dark energy
  • cosmic rays
  • neutrino physics
  • large-scale structure
  • black holes
  • gravitational waves
  • physics beyond the standard model

Speakers include:

Yacine Ali-Haïmoud (NYU, USA)
Francesca Calore (LAPTH, France)
Kiwoon Choi (CTPU-IBS, South Korea)
Basudeb Dasgupta (TIFR Mumbai, India)
Ruth Durrer (Geneva, Switzerland)
Silvia Galli (IAP Paris, France)
Joerg Jaeckel (Heidelberg, Germany)
Shaaban Khalil (Cairo, Egypt)
Eiichiro Komatsu (MPA, Germany)
Manuel Meyer (Erlangen, Germany)
Chiara Mingarelli (U. Connecticut & Flatiron Institute, USA)
Shinji Mukohyama (YITP, Japan)
Ajith Parameswaram (ICTS Bangalore, India)
Mario Santos (U. of the Western Cape, South Africa)
Ignacy Sawicki (CEICO, Czech Republic)
Leonardo Senatore (Stanford, USA)
Ravi Sheth (UPenn, USA)
Thomas Schwetz-Mangold (KIT Karlsruhe, Germany)
Piero Ullio (SISSA, Italy)
Mark Vogelsberger (MIT, USA)

Steering Committee members:

Csaba Balazs (Monash U., Australia)
Genevieve Belanger (LAPTh-CNRS, France)
Kiwoon Choi (CTPU-IBS, South Korea)
David Delepine (Guanajuato U., Mexico)
Peter Dunsby (Cape Town U., South Africa)
Christiane Frigerio Martins (U. de São Paulo, Brazil)
Joern Kersten (Bergen U., Norway)
Shaaban Khalil (Zewail City of Science and Technology, Egypt)
Pyungwon Ko (KIAS, South Korea)
Daniel Lopez-Fogliani (U. of Buenos Aires)
Yann Mambrini (LPT CNRS-Univ Paris Sud 11, France)
Carlos Muñoz (IFT UAM-CSIC, Spain)
Keith Olive (Minnesota U., USA)
Paolo Salucci (SISSA, Italy)
Qaisar Shafi (Delaware U., USA)
Fumihiro Takayama (YITP, Japan)
Yu-Feng Zhou (KITPC/ITP-CAS, China)

PLEASE NOTE that most fields in the APPLICATION FORM are optional. Junior researchers and those requesting financial support are encouraged to provide more detailed information.
Go to day