Workshop on Differential Geometry



9 - 20 March 2020 Maceio, Brazil

The "Workshop on Differential Geometry" has become a traditional event that takes place every year in the state of Alagoas, Brazil, during the Brazilian summer, congregating renowned international experts and members of the Brazilian geometry community.

The 2020 edition will celebrate the 10th anniversary of the event, which has been organized since 2011 by the Institute of Mathematics of the Federal University of Alagoas (UFAL). There will be a balance of topics that are active in Brazil and research directions that need to be stimulated and further developed.

In the first week 5 advanced mini courses will be given by international experts while the second week will be devoted to research seminars.

Applicants should specify if they want to participate in only one of the two weeks of the Workshop.

Topics:

- Minimal surfaces, constant mean curvature surfaces
- Kahler geometry, extremal metrics
- Mathematical relativity, stability/rigidity phenomena
- Mean curvature flow
- Gluing and desingularization techniques, phase transition PDEs

How to apply:

Online application: http://indico.ictp.it/event/9028/

Female scientists are encouraged to apply.

Grants:

Limited grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.















smr3431@ictp.it

http://indico.ictp.it/event/9028/

Directors:

Further information:

Marcos Petrucio Cavalcante, UFAL, Brazil Fernando Codá Marques, Princeton, USA Claudio Arezzo, ICTP, Italy

Course Lecturers:

Lucas Ambrozio, University of Warwick Joel Fine, Université Libre de Bruxelles Laurent Hauswirth, Université de Marne-la-Vallée Celso Viana, University of California - Irvine Lu Wang, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Invited Speakers:

Sérgio Almaraz, Universidade Federal Fluminense Claudio Arezzo, International Centre for Theoretical Physics Gérard Besson, Institut Fourier - Université de Grenoble José María Espinar, Universidad de Cadiz Abigail Folha, Universidade Federal Fluminense Ailana Fraser, University of British Columbia **Gregory Galloway, University of Miami** Casey Kelleher, Princeton University* Levi Lima, Universidade Federal do Ceará Vanderson Lima, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul Jorge Lira, Universidade Federal do Ceará Andrea Loi, Università di Cagliari Andrea Malchiodi, Scuola Normale Superiore **Ana Menezes, Princeton University** Frank Pacard, École Polytechnique Paolo Piccione, Universidade de São Paulo Álvaro Ramos, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul Tristan Rivière, ETH Zürich Richard Schoen, University of California - Irvine Gang Tian, Beijing University Feliciano Vitorio, Universidade Federal de Alagoas Jun-cheng Wei, University of British Columbia Xi-Ping Zhu, Sun Yat-sen University

Deadline:

*to be confirmed

10 January 2020



