MINIWORKSHOP on NEW STATES of STABLE and UNSTABLE QUANTUM MATTER

14 - 25 August 2006

(Miramare - Trieste, Italy)

Physicists will meet to discuss the challenges facing the condensed matter community in their quest to understand, manipulate and apply new states of stable and unstable quantum matter. This Miniworkshop on Strongly Correlated Electron materials, continues the commitment of past meetings, to a broad overview of current developments in strongly correlated electron systems, with a strong emphasis on pedagogy and discussion.

A special component of this 2006 meeting will involve a series of lectures entitled "physics on a shoestring" given by leaders in condensed matter experiments on methods for laboratories with constrained infrastructure.

Special topics will include novel types of superconducting order, new types of oxide material, quantum criticality and Mott transitions in systems of reduced dimensionality, and review talks on new developments in mesoscopics and atom traps. In keeping with previous years, the programme will involve a low density of talks each day, with a strong element of review and pedagogy, leaving afternoons free for discussion and collaboration. Most participants will be free of the formal burden of presenting talks.

ORGANIZERS:

A. CHUBUKOV (U. Wisconsin, Madison, U.S.A.)
P. COLEMAN (Rutgers University, Piscataway, U.S.A.)
A. SCHOFIELD (University of Birmingham, U.K.)
H. TAKAGI (University of Tokyo, Japan)

LOCAL ORGANIZER: E. TOSATTI (SISSA & ICTP, Trieste, Italy)

PARTICIPATION

Scientists and students from all countries which are members of the United Nations, UNESCO or IAEA may attend the Miniworkshop. As it will be conducted in English, participants should have an adequate working knowledge of this language. Although the main purpose of the Centre is to help research workers from developing countries, through a programme of training activities within a framework of international cooperation, a limited number of students and post-doctoral scientists from developed countries are also welcome to attend.

As a rule, travel and subsistence expenses of the participants should be borne by the home institution. Every effort should be made by candidates to secure support for their fare (or at least half-fare). However, limited funds are available for some participants who are nationals of, and working in, a developing country, and who are not more than 45 years old. Such support is available only for those who attend the entire activity. There is no registration fee for this event.

The **Application Form** is obtainable from the Activity Web page: **http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?1766** (which will be constantly up-dated) or from the Activity Secretariat: (smr1766@ictp.it)

It should be completed, signed and returned before 15 APRIL 2006 to:

the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics smr.1766
(c/o Ms. Doreen Sauleek)
Strada Costiera 11, I-34014 Trieste, Italy

or via email: smr1766@ictp.it (please save and send file attachments in RTF format)

Telephone: +39-040-2240346 Telefax: +39-040-224163 E-mail: smr1766@ictp.it

ICTP Home Page: http://www.ictp.it/

TENTATIVE LIST OF SPEAKERS:

(updated as of 24 July 2006)

G. AEPPLI (UCL)

D. AGTERBERG (Wisconsin)

N. ANDREI (Rutgers)

D. BASOV (UCSD)

S. BHATTACHARYA (Tata Inst., Mumbai)

S. BUEHLER-PASCHEN (Vienna)

C. CAPAN (Louisiana State)

P. CHANDRA (Rutgers)

N. CURRO (Los Alamos)

A. DAMASCELLI (UBC)

M. FABRIZIO (SISSA & ICTP, Trieste)

I. FISHER (Stanford)

R. GREENE (Maryland)

M. GROSCHE (Holloway, U.K.)

K. HAULE (Rutgers)

A.F. HO (Birmingham)

N. HUSSEY (Bristol)

K. KANODA (Tokyo)

D. KHVESHCHENKO (Chapel Hill)

K-H. KIM (Seoul)

V.E. KRAVTSOV (ICTP, Trieste)

V. MOSHCHALKOV (Leuven)

M. NORMAN (Argonne)

H-R. OTT (ETH, Zurich)

C. PEPIN (CEA, Gif-sur-Yvette)

P. PHILLIPS (Urbana)

T.V. RAMAKRISHNAN

(BHU Varanasi & Bangalore)

J. RECH (Rutgers)

A. ROSCH (Koln)

A. SANTANDER-SYRO (Orsay)

J. SAUNDERS (Holloway, U.K.)

A. SCHILLER (Jerusalem)

T. SENTHIL (IISc., Bangalore)

A. TSVELIK (Upton)

M. VOJTA (Karlsruhe)

DEADLINE:

for requesting participation

15 APRIL 2006