

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics











The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), in collaboration with "Horia Hulubei" National Institute for Physics and Nuclear Engineering (IFIN-HH) and Horia Hulubei Foundation, Bucharest, Romania, and Cyclotron Institute, Texas A&M University (TAMU), College Station, Texas, USA, will hold the

CARPATHIAN SUMMER SCHOOL OF PHYSICS 2010

Exotic Nuclei, Nuclear and Particle Astrophysics
"From nuclei to stars"

20 June - 3 July 2010 Sinaia, Romania

The 23rd edition of the Carpathian School, a two-weeks event in a school and conference format, has an interdisciplinary program that covers areas in nuclear physics, neutrino physics, astroparticle physics and cosmology, with nuclei being the central object that connects all items in the program.

TOPICS INCLUDE

- Exotic Nuclei
- Experiments with rare isotope beams
- Double beta decay
- Issues in nuclear astrophysics
- Nucleosynthesis
- Neutrino properties and new neutrino experiments
- The sun and solar neutrinos
- Supernova neutrinos
- Cosmic rays and neutrinos
- Dark matter

PARTICIPATION

The <u>first week</u> of the event has a 'school' character defined by a series of 10 courses.

Students from the host country, surrounding regions and all countries which are members of the United Nations, UNESCO or IAEA can attend.

The second week has a conference format, with invited lectures and short communications.

As a rule, participants should be supported by their home institution. A number of student fellowships (covering expenses for 2 weeks) can be granted, based on need and availability of funds. Applications are requested (see below).

Registration and fellowship application forms can be found on the website:

http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?2180

Further information can also be found on

http://cyclotron.tamu.edu/cssp10/ and http://zamolxes.theory.nipne.ro/cssp10

Activity Secretary

Carpathian Summer School of Physics 2010 (CSSP10) (smr 2180 - c/o Ms. Rosanna Sain) the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics Strada Costiera, 11 - 34151 Trieste, Italy

Telephone: +39-040-2240-231 Telefax: +39-040-2240-304 E-mail: smr2180@ictp.it
ICTP Activity Web page: http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?2180
ICTP Home Page: http://www.ictp.it

Activity Web Page: http://cyclotron.tamu.edu/cssp10/



ORGANIZERS

International Advisory Committee:

B. Alex Brown (East Lansing)

H. Ejiri (Osaka)

A. Giuliani (Insubria)

W. Haxton (Berkeley)

J. Jose (Barcelona)

K. Langanke (Darmstadt)

M. Lindner (Heidelberg)

Z. Majka (FAIR)

T. Motobayashi (Tokyo)

H. Rebel (Karlsruhe)

C. Rolfs (Bochum)

H. Schatz (East Lansing)

G. Senjanovic (ICTP)

B. Sherill (FRIB)

C. Spitaleri (Catania)

R.E. Tribble (Texas A&M)

P. Vogel (CALTECH)

M. Wiescher (Notre Dame)

A. Wolfendale (Durham)
P.J. Woods (Edinburgh)

N.V. Zamfir (Bucharest)

Organizing Committee:

Directors:

Alexei Yu. Smirnov (ICTP) Sabin Stoica (IFIN-HH) Livius Trache (TAMU/IFIN-HH)

Members of the Committee:

Adriana Banu (TAMU/IFIN-HH)
Florin Carstoiu (IFIN-HH)

Mihai Mirea (IFIN-HH) Andrei Neacsu (IFIN-HH) Horia Petrascu (IFIN-HH)

Gabriel Tabacaru (TAMU/IFIN-HH)

DEADLINES

15 March 2010

for student fellowship application

24 May 2010 for registration

31 May 2010 for abstract submission