Starts 6 Jul 2020
Ends 24 Jul 2020
Central European Time
Marrakesh - Morocco
Cadi Ayyad University
IMPORTANTE NOTICE: SCAM ALERT! ICTP has been reported cases of unsolicited phone calls from a travel agency pretending to make hotel reservations on behalf of its activitiesl: Please do NOT disclose any sensitive information, it is a fraudulent attempt to collect credit card data! No agency has been delegated to take care of accomodation arrangements for this activity, and communications on this matter will occur through official channels only. In case of any doubt, or should you receive any similar request, please contact the local organization or ICTP Secretariat at


The aim of the Biennial Africal School of Fundamental Physics and Application is to build capacity to harvest, interpret, and exploit the results of current and future physics experiments and to increase proficiency in related applications.

The school is based on a close interplay between theoretical, experimental, and applied physics.

The participating students are selected from all over Africa. A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of  selected participants.

The school also offers a workshop to train high school teachers, an outreach to motivate high school pupils and a physics conference to support a broader participation of African research faculties. The duration of the school allows for networking-€“interactions among the participants.

Access and participation in fundamental science is an important right. Through this work, it is hoped that the community of scientists who are at the forefront of science is enhanced and diversified thus fulfilling the mission of international research and education.

Main topics:

1) Theoretical Physics
2) Experimental Physics
3) Applied Physics
4) High Performance Grid Computing

In addition to lecture courses, each topic will include hands-on exercises on computing-related aspects, including the Grid.

For full information please visit



Kétévi Adiklè Assamagan (BNL), Anne E. Dabrowski (CERN), Christine Darve (ESS, Lund), Jonathan R. Ellis (King's College London), Fernando Ferroni (GSSI-INFN), Steve Guy Muanza (CNRS-IN2P3, Marseille), ICTP Scientific Contact: Bobby Samir Acharya