Starts 21 Sep 2020
Ends 25 Sep 2020
Central European Time
Beijing - People's Republic of China
CSRC - Beijing Computational Science Research Center
IMPORTANTE NOTICE: SCAM ALERT! ICTP has been reported cases of unsolicited phone calls from a travel agency pretending to make hotel reservations on behalf of its activitiesl: Please do NOT disclose any sensitive information, it is a fraudulent attempt to collect credit card data! No agency has been delegated to take care of accomodation arrangements for this activity, and communications on this matter will occur through official channels only. In case of any doubt, or should you receive any similar request, please contact the ICTP Secretariat at

Due to Covid-19 pandemic, the activity has been postponed - new dates still to be determined.

Descriptive abstract:

Collective quantum phenomena under non-equilibrium conditions is an active topic of research, with many open questions of great conceptual and practical interest. Out-of-equilibrium many-body systems can give rise to much richer scenarios than in thermodynamic equilibrium, and their understanding is becoming increasingly relevant for a wide range of experimental platforms.
The purpose of this conference is to bring together leading experts of many-body open quantum system to represent the state of the art in the field, the most recent theoretical ideas and techniques, and the increasing number of relevant experimental platforms. The conference aims to promote interactions and further research advances, and to provide an overview of the most recent progress to young researchers entering the field.
Topics will include:

  •  Dissipative phase transitions
  •  Measurement-based many-body state preparation
  •  Quantum state engineering by driving and dissipation
  •  Arrays of coupled QED or optomechanical cavities
  •  Random quantum circuits and other mesoscopic systems
  •  Trapped ions and Rydberg atoms in optical lattices
  •  Atomic condensates in optical cavities
  •  Keldysh and renormalization-group method
D. ANGELAKIS, National University of Singapore
I. CARUSOTTO, Università di Trento
J. CHALKER, Oxford University
C. CIUTI, Université Paris Diderot
S. DIEHL, Universität zu Köln
R. EGGER, Heinrich-Heine-Universität, Düsseldorf
M.P.A. FISHER, University of California Santa Barbara
I. GORNYI, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
A. KAMENEV, University of Minnesota
I. LESANOVSKY, University of Nottingham
S. MONTANGERO, Università di Padova
K. MURCH, Washington University in St. Louis
R. ORUS, Donostia International Physics Center
P. RABL, Atominstitut, TU Wien
P. RIBEIRO, Universidade de Lisboa
T. SHI, Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
A. SHNIRMAN, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
K. SNIZHKO, the Weizmann Institute of Science
L. TIAN, University of California Merced



Stefano Chesi (Beijing CSRC, P.R. China), Aashish Clerk (University of Chicago, USA), Yuval Gefen (The Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel), Yingdan Wang (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, P.R. China), ICTP Scientific Contact: Rosario Fazio