Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 22 Sep 2022 15:00
Ends 22 Sep 2022 16:00
Central European Time
Leonardo Building - Budinich Lecture Hall
Strada Costiera 11 34141 Trieste Italy
The family of Nobel Prize winner Abdus Salam set up the Spirit of Abdus Salam Award in 2014. The award is announced annually on the occasion of the ICTP Salam Distinguished Lectures, held at ICTP during the last week of January to coincide with Abdus Salam's birthday on 29 January. The Ceremony to honour the recipients of the 2022 Spirit of Abdus Salam Award will take place on Thursday 22 September at 15.00 hrs in person in the Budinich Lecture Hall on the ICTP Campus.

A special welcome will also be conveyed to ICTP's new intake of Diploma Students who start the academic year in September 2022.

A General Staff Meeting for all ICTP Staff (starting at 14.15 hrs CET) will take place prior to the Ceremony.

The 2022 Award recipients who will be present on this occasion together with Members of the Salam Family are:
Malik Maaza (South Africa) "For his major role in helping to shape Africa's science and technology landscape, on top of his own prolific research output with which he has trained over a hundred young African students, as well as a number from other areas in the South."
Concetta Mosca (Italy) "For her profound commitment to supporting the Diploma Programme during its first years and, more so, for her exceptional moral support of the students."
Adnan Shihab-Eldin (Kuwait) "For his unwavering, long-time support of ICTP's mission and his exceptional advocacy of ICTP to major donors such as Kuwait, OPEC funds, the Islamic Bank, the Kuwait Petroleum Company, the Kuwait Funds, and the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development."

A detailed feature article on the 2022 Awardees is available here:

Light refreshments will be served after the event on the LB terrace.

For those unable to attend in person, you can register in advance for this webinar: A confirmation email will be issued after registering with details for joining the event.
All are welcome to attend!