Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 21 Jun 2023 14:00
Ends 21 Jun 2023 16:00
Central European Time
Leonardo Building - Budinich Lecture Hall
Strada Costiera 11 34151 Trieste Italy
The ICTP Prize is awarded annually to young scientists from developing countries who have made outstanding and original contributions to physics. The 2022 ICTP Prize is awarded to two outstanding Iranian cosmologists: Prof. Shant Baghram of the Sharif University of Technology and Mohammad Hossein Namjoo of the Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences. The two share the prize for their pioneering contributions to developing robust theoretical, computational and statistical frameworks to compare theoretical predictions for various cosmological and astrophysical phenomena with high-precision observational data. The 2022 ICTP Prize Ceremony takes place on Wednesday 21 June 2023 in the Budinich Lecture Hall and is an in-person event, starting at 14.00 hrs. Each year, the ICTP Prize is given in honour of a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the field in which the prize is given. The 2022 ICTP Prize is dedicated to the memory of Russian physicist Valery Rubakov for his fundamental contributions at the interface of particle physics and cosmology. The Ceremony will be livestreamed from ICTP's YouTube Channel. Light refreshments will be served on the Leonardo Building Terrace after the ceremony. All are welcome to attend.
The 2022 ICTP Prize Ceremony takes place during the Summer School on Particle Physics. More information about the School is available at the following link.