Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 28 Aug 2024 14:00
Ends 28 Aug 2024 18:00
Central European Time
ICTP will celebrate the two winners of the 2023 ICTP Prize with a ceremony on Wednesday 28 August at 14:00 in the Budinich Lecture Hall The two recipients -- Prof. Mohit Kumar Jolly of the Indian Institute of Science and Xinan Zhou of the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics China (KITPC) -- share the Prize for their remarkable and novel contributions to their different fields, by developing new mathematical and computational methods with approaches rooted in theoretical physics. Both will give talks on their research during the ceremony. Information on the talks will be provided in the due time. Mohit Kumar Jolly of the Indian Institute of Science (IISc) in Bangalore receives the 2023 ICTP Prize for innovative contributions to understanding the emergent dynamics of cellular transitions during cancer metastasis and therapeutic resistance, and for unravelling the latent design principles of cellular networks that can determine a cell’s fate. Xinan Zhou of the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics China (KITPC) in Beijing is awarded the 2023 ICTP Prize for novel and outstanding contributions leading to new techniques to compute correlation functions in conformal field theories in the context of the AdS/CFT correspondence, and for developing new approaches to the analytic conformal bootstrap. The ICTP Prize was created in 1982. It recognises young scientists from developing countries who work and live in those countries and who have made outstanding and original contributions to physics. For further details, see the ICTP Prize webpage. Each year, the ICTP Prize is given in honour of a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the field in which the prize is given. This year’s ICTP Prize is in honour of Sir. Robert McCredie May, Baron May of Oxford, for his ground-breaking contributions to theoretical ecology based on insights from theoretical physics. The 2023 ICTP Prize award ceremony will be followed by the Diploma Graduation Ceremony during which the Qaisar and Monika Shafi Prize for the best diploma student of the year will be awarded. The ceremony is open to all and will be livestreamed on ICTP's YouTube channel.