Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 11 Jan 2016
Ends 22 Jan 2016
Central European Time
Santiago - Chile
Strada Costiera, 11 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)
CIMPA-ICTP Research School on Toric methods in geometry, arithmetics and dynamics Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Santiago, Chile, January 11- 22, 2016.

Registration is now open (deadline: October 4th, 2015),

Funds are available to support the participation of students and young researchers. In recent years, toric geometry has experienced a rapid growth with a wealth of new results and connections with other areas of mathematics like arithmetic geometry and number theory, dynamical systems, non-Archimedean and tropical geometry, mirror symmetry and birational geometry. This adds to the more classical connections to combinatorics, computer algebra and singularity theory among others, and applications to other areas of science like mathematical biology and chemistry. At the same time, the concrete and explicit nature of toric varieties makes them a perfect entrance door for young students and researchers to higher dimensional algebraic geometry.
The main purpose of this research school is to motivate and train Latin American students and young researchers in these subjects.

The first week consists of the following four courses:

-Introduction to toric varieties by Alicia Dickenstein, Universidad de Buenos Aires.

-Combinatorics and topology of toric varieties by Mircea Mustata, University of Michigan.

- Introduction to tropical geometry by Sam Payne, Yale University.

-The classical n-body problem and its relative equilibria by Alain Albouy, Observatoire de Paris.

The second week consists of the following two courses and ten survey talks:

-Toric varieties, their birational modifications and their deformations by Bernard Teissier, CNRS & Université de Paris 7.

-Arithmetic intersection theory on toric varieties by Martin Sombra, ICREA & Universitat de Barcelona.

-Survey talks given by Carolina Araujo, Michela Artebani, José Ignacio Burgos, Ana-Maria Castravet, Javier Elizondo, Javier Fernández de Bobadilla, Pedro González-Pérez*, Antonio Laface, Álvaro Liendo, Jenia Tevelev.
* to be confirmed

Scientific Committee: José Ignacio Burgos, Alicia Dickenstein, Javier Elizondo, Javier Fernández de Bobadilla, Antonio Laface, Álvaro Liendo, Sukhendu Mehrotra, Ricardo Menares, Juan Rivera-Letelier, Martín Sombra and Giancarlo Urzúa.
**DEADLINE: 04/10/2015**


Fernando Rodriguez Villegas, Juan Rivera-Letelier, Marin Sombra,
ICTP Local Organizer: Lothar Goettsche