Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 29 Jun 2016 15:30
Ends 29 Jun 2016 17:30
Central European Time
The 2015 ICTP Prize Ceremony takes place on Wednesday 29 June at 15.30 hrs in the Budinich Lecture Hall. ICTP has awarded its 2015 ICTP Prize to two young scientists particularly active in the fields of atmospheric chemistry and physics in connection with climate science: Aijun Ding, for his outstanding contribution to the analysis and simulation of chemical and physical processes related to tropospheric pollution; Vijayakumar S. Nair, for his outstanding contribution in the domain of aerosol-climate interactions. Vijayakumar Nair is a Simons Associate for the period 2014-2019.
The programme is as follows: Welcome remarks, Fernando Quevedo, Director, ICTP
 Remembrance of Stephen Schneider, by Filippo Giorgi, Head, Earth System Physics section
 Overview of ozone and aerosol in the Earth system, Fabien Solmon, Research Scientist, Earth System Physics section 2015 ICTP Prize Lectures: Air pollution and Weather Interaction in East Asia: From Measurement to Policy
 Aijun Ding, Nanjing University, China Effects of Aerosols on Regional Hydroclimate Vijayakumar S. Nair, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, India See slides for more detailed information, including the abstracts of the Prize Lectures.