Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 8 Aug 2016 14:30
Ends 8 Aug 2016 17:30
Central European Time
ICTP will celebrate the three winners of its 2015 Dirac Medal during an awards ceremony to be held TODAY, Monday 8 August at 14:30 hrs in the Budinich Lecture Hall. The 2015 Dirac Medal was awarded to three physicists for their interdisciplinary contributions which introduced concepts of conformal field theory and non-abelian quasiparticle statistics in condensed matter systems and applications of these ideas to quantum computation. The winners will each give a lecture today on the following topics: Alexei Kitaev (California Institute of Technology): A toy model of a quantum black hole Gregory W. Moore (Rutgers University): Some comments on families of quantum systems Nicholas Read (Yale University): No-go theorems for free-fermion tensor network states
More details of the event are available at: