Starts 19 Jul 2017
Ends 22 Jul 2017
Central European Time
- Italy
An initiative to encourage Mediterranean youth, both male and female, to develop an interest in Mathematics, a discipline which has been of great importance for the growth of the cultural community of the Mediterranean, with its many nations and religions.

Working language of the championship: English

Some 20 teams involved, one for each of the Mediterranean countries.
Each team consisting of 4 people, 2 boys and 2 girls, presently attending the last three years of high school (and at most nineteen years old).
Each team selected by appropriate local entities (e.g., the local entities in charge of the IMO).

For more information on MYMC 2017:

July 19, 2017 - Arrival in Rome
July 20, 2017 - Opening ceremony and contest on the premises of Roma Tre university
July 21, 2017 - Awards ceremony and visit of Rome
July 22, 2017 - Departure from Rome

Contest operating methods:

July 20 in the morning
1. A common list of problems for all teams
2. Preliminary ranking of the teams according to their score

July 20 in the afternoon (direct clashes)
1. First round – direct clashes between 1st and 2nd ranked teams, 3rd and 4th ranked teams, 5th and 6th ranked teams, etc.
2. Second round – direct clashes between randomly coupled teams
3. Each direct clash carries some points to the teams
4. The points accumulated in the afternoon are added to those scored in the morning.

Description of a direct clash
Each team receives two lists of problems and decides which one to keep, the other being passed to the opponent. Thus every team has two lists of problems to solve in a fixed amount of time. The winner is the team able to solve more problems (hence a tie is possible).

July 20 in the afternoon (final problem)
A common problem is given to each team, to be solved in at most 10 minutes. The team which first provides the correct answer is awarded 3.5 points; all the other teams providing a correct answer are awarded 1 point. If a team provides an incorrect answer, it is awarded 0 points. If a team does not provide an answer, it is awarded 0.5 points. The points awarded are added to those already accumulated.

The final ranking of the MYMC is decided by the Jury based on the final score obtained by the various teams, at the conclusion of the competitions described above.

Local Organizing Committee:
  • Claudio Bernardi, Sapienza Università di Roma
  • Luca Biasco, Università degli Studi Roma Tre
  • Giandomenico Boffi, Università degli Studi Internazionali di Roma
  • Corrado Falcolini, Università degli Studi Roma Tre
  • Marta Menghini, Sapienza Università di Roma
  • Marina Monsurrò, Università Europea di Roma
  • Francesco Pappalardi, Università degli Studi Roma Tre
  • Maria Grazia Proietti, Università degli Studi Roma Tre
  • Valerio Talamanca, Università degli Studi Roma Tre
  • Francesca Tovena, Università degli Studi di Roma Tor Vergata


ICTP Scientific Contact: Claudio Arezzo, Marco Mancini (Chair) (MIUR, Capo Dipartimento per la formazione superiore e la ricerca), Maria Letizia Melina (Vice-Chair) (MIUR, Direttore Generale per lo studente, lo sviluppo e internazionalizzazione della formazione superiore), Claudio Bernardi (Sapienza Università di Roma), Luca Biasco (Università degli Studi Roma Tre, coordinatore PLS), Daniele Boffi (Piano Lauree Scientifiche,Coordinatore nazionale del progetto per la Matematica), Giandomenico Boffi (Università degli Studi Internazionali di Roma, Direttore del Laboratorio di Scienze Matematiche), Pierluigi Cascioli, Luigi Chierchia (Università degli Studi Roma Tre, delegato del rettore allo sport), Ciro Ciliberto (Unione Matematica Italiana, Presidente), Federico Cinquepalm (MIUR, Dirigente Ufficio Internazionalizzazione della Formazione superiore), Corrado Falcolini (Università degli Studi Roma Tre), Claudia Malvenuto (Sapienza Università di Roma), Roberto Natalini (Istituto per le Applicazioni del Calcolo M.Picone (CNR), Direttore), Giorgio Patrizio (Istituto Nazionale di Alta Matematica, Presidente), Ludovico Pernazza (Commissione Olimpiadi di Matematica, Presidente), Fernando Rodriguez Villegas, Lucia Tolot (Ministero degli Affari Esteri e della Cooperazione Internazionale), Francesca Tovena (Università degli Studi di Roma Tor Vergata)