Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 7 May 2019
Ends 15 May 2019
Central European Time
Samarkand - Uzbekistan
The School aims at bringing together new ideas, novel results, problems and prospects of modern condensed matter physics with special focus on quantum technologies. The latter is new and advanced area of physics and engineering, based on the use some of the phenomena in quantum mechanics, such as quantum entanglement, quantum superposition and quantum tunneling and interference effects for practical applications such as quantum computing, quantum sensing, quantum cryptography, high precision quantum metrology and quantum imaging.
This will be done by presenting series of lectures for the broad auditorium of young researchers (e.g. Master and PhD students, young postdocs and research associates), as well as senior scientists from developing countries working on different areas of condensed matter physics, material science, and statistical and chemical physics. Invited lecturers will be world-wide well-known experts on the above topics.
The lectures to be presented will be focused on most advanced topics of condensed matter physics which are relevant to novel materials for energy conversion, quantum information and medical applications. The goal of the lectures will be twofold, educational and expert-level discussions of novel results. The latter will be done both during the panel lectures and informal seminars.

• Graphene, two-dimensional materials and their heterostructures;
• Majorana fermions;
• Topological insulators;
• Quantum hall effect;
• Novel superconducting materials;
• Quantum entanglement and quantum computing;
• Quantum networks and their applications;
• Quantum optics and cold atoms;
• Quantum metrology

Invited speakers:

A. Akhmerov   (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
G. Casati    (University of Insubria, Italy)
A.H. Castro Neto (National University of Singapore)
R. Fazio    (The Abdus Salam ICTP, Italy)
K. Flensberg    (Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark)
Y. Gefen    (Weizmann Institute, Israel)
A. Geim  (The University of Manchester, U.K.)
L. Glazman    (Yale University, U.S.A.)
M. Katsnelson    (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)
A.H. MacDonald (University of Texas at Austin)
C. Marcus (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
T. Martin    (Aix-Marseille University, France)
L. Molenkamp  (University of Wurzburg, Germany)
F. Von Oppen    (Free University of Berlin, Germany)
Y. Oreg    (Weizmann Institute, Israel)
F. Peeters    (University of Antwerp, Belgium)
S. Sachdev  (Harvard University, U.S.A.)
A. Stern    (Weizmann Institute, Israel)

Further information may be obtained from the poster and at Deadline: 1st February 2019


Vladimir Falko (NGI, the University of Manchester), Davron Matrasulov (Turin Polytechnic University in Tashkent), ICTP Scientific Contact: Mikhail Kiselev