Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 13 Jul 2020
Ends 17 Jul 2020
Central European Time
Kastler Lecture Hall (AGH)
via Grignano. 9 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)
Note: ICTP has suspended all educational activities from 24 February as precautionary measures due to COVID-19; more details at

The Advanced School ‘Frontiers of Nanomechanics’ will introduce the fundamental concepts of nano- and optomechanical systems and describe the key ideas behind future potential technologies.

The school will consist of eight lecture series (two times one hour) delivered by international experts. These lecture series reflect the fields which currently attract the highest scientific interest and/or application potential and cover landmark implementations of nanomechanical systems. They also represent a good balance between experimental and theory perspectives, fundamental recurrent topics and modern topics which only developed in the last couple of years, as well as between classical and quantum mechanical aspects of nanomechanics. The lecture series will be complemented by practical, hands-on mini-project sessions supervised by the lecturers. The results of the mini-projects which will be presented at the end of the school.

Lecture Topics:
  • Introduction to nanomechanics (Andrew Cleland, University of Chicago, USA)
  • Nanomechanical resonators coupled to spins (Ania Jayich, University of California in Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Nonlinear dynamics of nanomechanical systems (Mark Dykman, Michigan State University, USA)
  • Topological mechanics (Sebastian Huber, ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Basics of quantum cavity optomechanics (Aashish Clerk, University of Chicago, USA)
  • Optomechanical crystals and quantum cavity optomechanics experiments (Amir Safavi-Naeini, Stanford University, USA)
  • Quantized phonons and superconducting qubits (Yiwen Chu, ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Non-Hermitean scenarios in nanomechanical systems (Jack Harris, Yale University, USA)

A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.

**DEADLINE: 30/04/2020**


Yaroslav Blanter (Delft University of Technology), Florian Marquardt (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light), Eva Weig (University of Konstanz), Local Organiser: Mikhail Kiselev