Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 22 May 2020 14:00
Ends 22 May 2020 16:30
Central European Time
Leonardo Building - Budinich Lecture Hall
Strada Costiera 11 34152 Trieste, Italy
The 2019 Dirac Medal and Prize Ceremony will take place on Friday 22 May 2020 during the ICTP Summer School on Cosmology 2020 (smr3467) ICTP awarded its 2019 Dirac Medal and Prize to three physicists whose research has made a profound impact on modern cosmology. Viatcheslav Mukhanov (Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich), Alexei Starobinsky (Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics) and Rashid Sunyaev (Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics) share the prize for “their outstanding contributions to the physics of the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) with experimentally tested implications that have helped to transform cosmology into a precision scientific discipline by combining microscopic physics with the large scale structure of the Universe.” All three winners have made important contributions to the understanding of the early Universe in the context of inflationary cosmology. The feature article is available at: More details and the programme outline will follow. All are welcome to attend the events which will be livestreamed from the ICTP website. Light refreshments will be served. About the ICTP Dirac Medal First awarded in 1985, ICTP's Dirac Medal is given in honor of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. It is awarded every year on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics. For more details about the prize and a list of past winners, see: