Starts 28 Aug 2020 10:00
Ends 28 Aug 2020 12:00
Central European Time
Zoom Meeting
on the occasion of the presentation of the Spirit of Salam Award to
M.S. Narasimhan


10.00 Welcome and remarks by the ICTP Director
10.05 Reminiscences by colleagues, students and friends
11.00 Mathematics Colloquium by Nigel Hitchin (Oxford)

Registration at WEBINAR Link:
Please register in advance for this webinar:
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar. Should you not be able to join the Webinar, the Colloquium is also available in live streaming at:

Abstract: The famous theorem of Narasimhan and Seshadri showed that the moduli space of representations of the fundamental group of a surface into a unitary group could be described holomorphically in terms of stable vector bundles on an algebraic curve. The theory of Higgs bundles extended this idea to noncompact groups and in particular to real forms like SL(n,R) and in this case there is a component which is described as a space of holomorphic differentials on the curve. The special case n=2 gives classical Teichmüller space. The talk concerns approaches to the case of SL(n,R) where n=∞, interpreted as the group of Hamiltonian diffeomorphisms of the cotangent bundle of the circle and leads to differential geometric questions about geodesics on surfaces.

The actual presentation of the Prize will take place during the Diploma graduation ceremony, on Thursday, 27 August at 9:30; see (