Starts 31 May 2021
Ends 11 Jun 2021
Central European Time
Online -
Strada Costiera, 11 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)


NEW: ASESMA 2021 Preliminary programme is online!

* * *

The African School series on Electronic Structure Methods and Applications (ASESMA) is planned on a biennial basis since 2010. Previous schools were held in Cape Town, South Africa (2010), Eldoret, Kenya (2012), Johannesburg, South Africa (2015), Accra, Ghana (2016), and Addis Ababa, Ethiopia (2018).

In 2021, ASESMA will be held as an ICTP Virtual school.

The aim of the School is to introduce young African researchers and students to the theory of electronic structure and other atomistic simulation methods, with an emphasis on the computational methods for practical calculations.

The School will cover introductory concepts such as: electronic structure theory, density functional theory and functionals, phonons, magnetism, enhanced sampling methods in molecular dynamics, ab-initio molecular dynamics, etc.

It will also cover more advanced topics and applications of these methods to the structural, mechanical and optical properties of materials, and to the properties of biological systems.

The School will include hands-on tutorial sessions based on public license codes (including, but not limited to, the "Quantum Espresso" package).

During the second week students will be asked to split up in teams and work on specific projects under the guidance of the lecturers and mentors.


George Amolo, The Technical University of Kenya
Michele Ceriotti, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland
Matteo Gatti, Ecole Polytechnique ETSF Palaiseau, France
Javier Junquera, Universidad de Cantabria, Santander, Spain
Ryo Maezono, JAIST, Japan
Neepa Maitra, Rutgers University, Newark, USA
Nisha Mammen, JYU University of Jyväskylä, Finland
Andrea Marini, Istituto di Struttura della Materia, CNR, Italy
Giacomo Melani, UZH University of Zürich, Switzerland
Lucia Reining, Ecole Polytechnique ETSF Palaiseau, France
Natasa Stojic, ICTP Trieste, Italy

* * *
- - -  DEADLINE FOR APPLICATION: 15 MAY 2021  - - -


Omolulu Akin-Ojo (EAIFR), G. Gebreyesus Hagoss (University of Ghana), Sinéad Griffin (LBNL), Richard Martin (Stanford University), Shobhana Narasimhan (JNCASR Bangalore), Steve Ndengue (EAIFR), Nicola Seriani (ICTP), Local Organiser: Nicola Seriani