Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 8 Sep 2021
Ends 10 Sep 2021
Central European Time
Online -
SISSA Via Beirut, 2-4 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)
The Conference is live-streamed on the ICTP YouTube page at the following link:
This is the 3rd conference on Statistical Physics organised under the auspices of the EPS Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Division, during which the EPS Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Prize will be awarded.
The previous conferences took place in 2019 at Nordita, Stockholm and in 2017 in Krakow.

The conference is planned to take place in hybrid format. The on-site program will take place at SISSA campus at Miramare, Via Beirut, 2-4, I - 34151 Trieste (Italy).

The EPS conference on Statistical Physics of Complex systems will help to connect the European community of Statistical and Nonlinear Physics to the one in developing countries. A special effort in this respect will be made in this activity by building bridges on statistical physics with researchers from developing countries. To this aim, there will be ample opportunity for informal discussions and interdisciplinary interaction between people from different scientific backgrounds within the broad area of statistical and nonlinear physics. A session of the Conference will be devoted to the prestigious junior and senior prizes of the EPS Statistical Nonlinear Physics Division, which were created and awarded for the first time in 2017 at the Marian Smoluchowki Symposyum in Krakow.

  • Active matter
  • Complex networks
  • Disordered quantum systems and spin glasses
  • Interdisciplinary applications in physics, biology, economics, and the social sciences.
  • Nonlinear dynamical systems, chaos and turbulence
  • Phase transitions and critical phenomena
  • Stochastic modelling
  • Stochastic Thermodynamics
  • Theory and applications of Machine Learning
A. ALTIERI, Paris University, France
C. ANTENEODO, PUC Rio De Janeiro, Brasil
A. AUFFEVES, Institut Neel, France
U. BASU, S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, India 
R. BURIONI, Parma University, Italy
G. CIMINI, University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy
D. DEAN, Bordeaux University, France
G. GONNELLA, Bari University, Italy
R. HARRIS, Queen Mary University London, UK
E. INACK, Perimeter Institute, Canada
K. KANEKO, University of Tokyo, Japan
N. MERHAV, Technion, Israel
D. SAAD, Aston University, UK
U. SEIFERT, Stuttgart University, Germany
D. M SHADRACK, University of Tanzania, Tanzania
J. SULKOWSKA, University of Warsaw, Poland
H. TOUCHETTE, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
F. VAN WIJLAND, Paris University, France
G. VOLPE, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

The Board of the EPS Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Division is pleased to announce the winners of the EPS Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Prize 2021.

Registration: There is no registration fee for online participation.
  15 August 2021 for participation in person
  22 August 2021 for participation online


Erik Aurell (KTH Stockholm), Guido Caldarelli (IMT Lucca), Leticia Cugliandolo (Sorbonne University Paris), Christian Beck (QMUL London), Andrea Gambassi (SISSA Trieste), Sebastian Goldt (SISSA Trieste), Ewa Gudowska-Nowak (Smoluchowski Institute of Physics Krakow), Holger Kantz (MPIPKS Dresden), Edgar Roldan (ICTP Trieste), Stefano Ruffo (SISSA Trieste), Raul Toral (IFISC Palma), Local Organiser: Matteo Marsili