Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 22 Oct 2021 14:00
Ends 22 Oct 2021 17:00
Central European Time
Hybrid event
Budinich Lecture Hall and Online
Strada Costiera 11 34151 Trieste and online
The 2020 Dirac Medal and Prize Ceremony will take place as a mixed online and in presence event on Friday 22 October 2021 at 14.00 hrs. The Ceremony is an integral part of the ICTP School on Superstring Theory and Related Topics (smr 3629) which runs from 18-22 October 2021. ICTP awarded its 2020 Dirac Medal and Prize to three distinguished physicists – André Neveu of University of Montpellier, Pierre Ramond of University of Florida, and Miguel Virasoro of Universidad Nacional de General Sarmiento – "for their pioneering contributions to the inception and formulation of string theory which introduced new Bosonic and Fermionic symmetries into physics". The full feature article is available at the following link: The programme of the Award Ceremony will include the following talks, with an introduction by Prof. Jeff Harvey, University of Chicago, USA: André Neveu from the University of Montpellier in France will give a talk on "Perturbatively conserved higher nonlocal charges of free-surface deep-water gravity waves". Abstract: We present a set of seven explicit higher nonlocal charges of free-surface deep-water gravity waves conserved in lowest nontrivial orders of perturbation in the amplitude of the surface displacement. This strengthens the conjecture that it is an integrable system. From arXiv:2011.06400. ***** Pierre Ramond from the University of Florida in the USA will give a talk on "Following Dirac's Footsteps". Abstract: I describe Dirac's role in pointing a young physicist to superstrings and supersymmetry. I then discuss some "unfinished" aspects of the Standard Model, and specifically address the large angles in neutrino mixings as tangible links to short-distance physics ***** After the talks, an In Memoriam event will take place, with invited speakers Giorgio Parisi, Gabriele Veneziano, Daniele Amati, Atish Dabholkar highlighting the scientific work of Miguel Virasoro. Register in advance for this webinar: After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar. The link is the same for both events. About the ICTP Dirac Medal First awarded in 1985, ICTP's Dirac Medal is given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. It is awarded every year on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics. Recipients of ICTP’s Dirac Medal join a list of Medallists comprising the world’s top physicists, many of whom have proceeded to win Nobel Prizes, Fields Medals or Wolf Prizes. An international committee of distinguished scientists selects the winners from a list of nominated candidates.
The programme is now available.