Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 16 May 2022
Ends 20 May 2022
Central European Time
Kastler Lecture Hall (AGH)
Adriatico Guest House Riva Massimiliano e Carlotta, Grignano I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)

IMPORTANT: On Sunday, 15 May at 18:30 there will be a Welcome reception. All participants are cordially invited to attend.

An ICTP Hybrid Meeting. You can submit your application for participation in presence or online.

This conference will be a venue for bringing together world-leading experts, young researchers, and new-comers to discuss and to tackle modern challenges in mesoscopic superconducting devices.

Mesoscopic superconducting devices open up bright perspectives not only for current and future developments in quantum technologies but also to address fundamental physics. For example, a key for promising applications is utilizing the interplay between superconducting charge transport and energy dissipation in the form of microwave radiation and heat. Superconducting circuits are engineered to serve as bright sources of quantum microwave light and for the phase-coherent transfer of heat. From a different viewpoint, superconducting devices have been recognized as tools to realize, to probe and to control non-locality and topology in charge transport phenomena as well as strong correlations in many-body systems.  

The conference will provide a bridge of shared expertise between communities aiming from different angles at novel superconducting phenomena and quantum technologies.

Topics include:
•    Sources and detection of quantum microwave light
•    Driven dissipative Josephson circuits
•    Many-body physics with novel Josephson devices and material designs
•    Modern Josephson transport and quantum phase slips
•    Heat transfer in superconducting devices

M. ABDI, Isfahan University of Technology, Iran
C. ALTIMIRAS, CEA Saclay-Paris, France
A. ARMOUR, The University of Nottingham, UK
L. ARRACHEA, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
C. AST, Max Plank FKF Stuttgart, Germany
D. BASKO, Institut Neel, Grenoble, France, France
W. BELZIG, University of Konstanz, Germany
N. BOURLET, Sherbrooke University, Canada, Canada
A. CLERK, University of Chicago, USA
P. DELSING, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden, Sweden
Z. DOU, Universite Paris Sud, Paris, France, France
F. GIAZOTTO, Scuola Normale Superiore, Italy
C. GIRIT, CEA Saclay-Paris, France
M. GRIFONI, University of Regensburg, Germany
P. HAKONEN, Aalto University, Finland
F. HASSLER, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
E. PALADINO, University of Catania, Italy
H. HUTIN, Ecole Normale Supérieure Lyon, France
N. KATZ, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
T. KONTOS, Universite Paris Sud, France
A. LEVY YEYATI, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
M. MÖTTÖNEN, Aalto University, Finland
J. PEKOLA, Aalto University School of Science, Finland
M. PINO GARCIA, Institute of Fundamental Physics CSIC Madrid, Madrid
I. POP, KIT, Physikalisches Institut, Germany
H. POTHIER, Commissariat a L''Energie Atomique Saclay - Spec, France
M. SÁNCHEZ, Bariloche Atomic Center, Argentina
F. TADDEI, NEST NANO-CNR & Scuola Normale Superiore, Italy
E. TURECI, Princeton University, USA
A. USTINOV, Kfa - Forschungszentrum Julich Gmbh, Germany
D. VION, CEA Saclay-Paris, France
S. VIRALLY, Sherbrooke University, Canada, Canada
A. WALLRAFF, ETH Zurich, Switzerland, Switzerland
F. WILHELM-MAUCH, University of Saarbrücken, Germany
C. WILSON, University Waterloo, Canada

Grants: A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.

The deadline of 15 April 2022 is for applications to attend in presence. The deadline of 6 May 2022 is for applications to attend online.
**DEADLINE: 06/05/2022**


Joachim Ankerhold (Ulm University, Germany), Björn Kubala (DLR and Ulm University, Germany), Ciprian Padurariu (Ulm University, Germany), Nicolas Roch (Institute Néel, France), Local Organiser: Rosario Fazio (ICTP)