Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 30 May 2022
Ends 2 Jun 2022
Central European Time
Budinich Lecture Hall (LB)
Strada Costiera, 11 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)
An ICTP Hybrid Meeting. You can submit your application for participation in presence or online.

Nano/mesoscale mechanical and rheological response with dissipation has become, thanks to the very broad range of experimental/theoretical approaches, a novel local diagnostic and even spectroscopic tool, as well as a playground of sophisticated non-equilibrium statistical physics.
The physics of nanoscale mechanical dissipation is relevant to sliding nanofriction, to technological themes such as lubrication or finger-touchscreen friction, to soft and granular matter, to nanofrictional emulation in optical lattices, to active matter, to quantum and classical processes in noncontact AFM, and beyond. Between condensed matter physics, nanomechanics, materials science and engineering, this interdisciplinary area is of considerable conceptual value as a modern subject in non-equilibrium physics, and of the potential relevance of neighbouring fields such as fatigue, wear, lubrication, rheology, and biomechanics. As is well established in ICTP Trieste since 1995, we will collect the world community active in these fields, including groups in emerging countries, mixing theoretical, simulation and experimental highlights, and identifying future directions of motion of
research in this lively arena.
  • From dissipation to superlubricity
  • Atomistic friction of 2D layered materials
  • Nanomanipulation and dynamics of nano-objects at surfaces
  • Tribology of confined systems and lubricants under shear
  • Frictional dynamics in soft and active matter
  • Friction in powders and granular systems
  • Fundamentals of friction theory
  • Electronic, magnetic and quantum friction
  • Surface and bulk  processes and transitions detected by noncontact AFM dissipation
  • Tribochemistry, triboelectricity, biotribological effects
  • Trends in experimental and computational techniques

A. BENASSI, Chiesi Farmaceutici, Italy
R. BENNEWITZ, Leibniz Institute for New Materials, Germany
C. CAFOLLA, Durham University, UK
X. CAO, University of Konstanz, Germany
R. CARPICK, University of Pennsylvania, USA
E.M. CHANDROSS, Sandia National Laboratories, USA
E. CIHAN, TU Dresden, Chair of Materials Science and Nanotechnology, Germany
C.A. DRUMMOND SUINAGA, Paul-Pascal Centre, CNRS, France
A. GIACOMELLO, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E. GNECCO, Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland
N.N. GOSVAMI, Indian Institute of Technology, India
B.W. GOTSMANN, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland
R. GUERRA, University of Milan, Italy
T. HEIMBURG, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
E. KOREN, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
H. LÖWEN, University of Düsseldorf, Germany
M. MA, Tsinghua University, China
T. MA, Tsinghua University, China
N. MANINI, University of Milan, Italy
M.C. MARCHETTI, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
L.D. MARKS, Northwestern University Evanston, USA
A. MARTINI, University of California Merced, USA
T.E. MEHLSTÄUBLER, PTB & Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany
A. MESCOLA, CNR-Istituto Nanoscienze, Italy
M. MUSER, Saarland University, Germany
O. NOEL, CNRS, Le Mans Université, LPEC, France
A. OLLIER, University of Basel, Switzerland
W. OUYANG, School of chemisty Tel Aviv University, Israel
L. PASTEWKA, University of Freiburg, Germany
R. PAWLAK, University of Basel, Switzerland
B. PERSSON, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany
J.B. PETHICA, Trinity College, Ireland
A. PETRI, CNR Istituto dei Sistemi Complessi, Italy
E. RIEDO, NYU - Tandon School of Engineering, USA
A. SCHIRMEISEN, Justus-Liebig University, Germany
A. SIRIA, CNRS ENS, LPS Laboratoire de Physique Statistique, France
P. TIERNO, University of Barcelona, Spain
M. URBAKH, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
G. DE VILHENA, University of Basel, Switzerland
Q. ZHENG, Tsinghua University Beijing, China

Speakers (20 minutes talk):
M.Z.  BAYKARA, University of California Merced, USA
X. GAO, Tel-Aviv University, School of Chemistry, Israel
A. JENKINS VILLALOBOS, International Centre for Theory of Quantum Technologies (ICTQT), Poland
M.R. KISIEL, University of Basel, Switzerland
L. NOIREZ, Université Paris-Saclay CEA-CNRS, France
M. PIERNO, University of Padua, Italy
A. SADEGHI, Shahid Beheshti University, Iran
A. SILVA, Italy
I. STANKOVIC, Institute of Physics Belgrade, Serbia
S. VAEZALLAEI, University of Tehran, Iran

Participants are encouraged to submit abstracts for contributed talk.
A number of short oral presentation slots will be available for some of them upon selection. During the application please make sure to use our templates to format your abstract in PDFs. Templates are available below for download.

Accepted participants will be able to attend in remote or — strictly following Italian sanitary rules as they will be applicable at the time of the conference, and depending on the very limited number of available places — in person. As regards the COVID-19 policy, we advise to follow the updated rules available on the ICTP page ICTP Access Guidelines for Visitors.
A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries.
There is no registration fee.

**DEADLINE: 20/05/2022**
**Note: the deadline on 20 April 2022 is for all applications including those needing financial support and/or visa and on 20 May 2022 - all other applications.**


Ernst Meyer (University of Basel, Switzerland), Andrea Vanossi (CNR-IOM, Italy), Quanshui Zheng (Tsinghua University, China), Erio Tosatti (ICTP/SISSA, Italy), Local Organiser: Erio Tosatti (ICTP, SISSA)