Scientific Calendar Event

Starts 11 Jan 2023
Ends 13 Jan 2023
Central European Time
Budinich Lecture Hall (LB)
Strada Costiera, 11 I - 34151 Trieste (Italy)
An ICTP Meeting in presence

The Workshop is live-streamed on the ICTP CMSP YouTube Channel here

This Workshop is held in Trieste every two years, since 1987, and is  devoted to recent advances in condensed matter physics and materials science, based on realistic calculations of the electronic structure of complex systems.

The aim is a critical discussion of methods and challenging applications. It has become one of the most popular regular events of the international ab-initio electronic structure community.  This event also has the ambition to reach out to countries where the electronic structure community is not traditionally as strong as in Europe, the USA and Japan, in coherence with the mission of its host institution, the ICTP.

The workshop will also include the Award ceremony for the "Walter Kohn prize for quantum mechanical material modeling" (, co-funded by ICTP and the Quantum ESPRESSO Foundation.

The Award Ceremony is live-streamed click here

Topics will span a broad range, including, among others:
  • Spectroscopy
  • Strong electronic correlations
  • Electron-phonon coupling
  • Superconductivity
  • Novel functionals
  • Transport
  • Advanced Materials
  • Materials Discovery
  • Machine Learning
  • Quantum Computing

Confirmed speakers:
N. ARTHRITH, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
T. AYRAL, Atos Quantum Lab, France
M. CASULA, Sorbonne University, France
C. E. DREYER, Stony Brook University, USA
M. R. FILIP, University of Oxford, UK
A. HALDER, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
E. INACK, Perimeter Institute, Canada
S. G. LOUIE, University of California, USA
​Z. LI, ICTP, Italy
J. LISCHNER, Imperial College London, UK
A. MARRAZZO, University of Trieste, Italy
F. MACHEDA, Instituto Italiano di Tecnologia (IIT), Italy
S. MANDAL, West Virginia University, USA
L. MONACELLI, The University of Rome, Sapienza, Italy
E. PETERSON, Los Alamos National Laboratory Physics of Condensed Matter and Complex Systems, USA
L. RATCLIFF, University of Bristol, UK
​M. SIMONCELLI, TCM Group, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge, UK
Y.-W. SON, Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Republic of Korea
I. TIMROV, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
S. WEBER, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Grants: A limited number of grants are available to support the attendance of selected participants, with priority given to participants from developing countries. There is no registration fee.



Silke Biermann (Ecole Polytechnique, France), Francesco Mauri (University of Rome Sapienza), Tanusri Saha-Dasgupta (S. N. Bose Centre for Basic Sciences, India), Local Organiser: Nicola Seriani (ICTP)