Starts 14 Jul 2022 15:00
Ends 14 Jul 2022 17:30
Central European Time
Leonardo Building - Budinich Lecture Hall
Strada Costiera 11 34151 Trieste Italy
ICTP awarded its 2021 Dirac Medal and Prize to four physicists whose theoretical work underpinned the 2015 detection of gravitational waves generated by black holes. The 2021 Dirac Medallists are: Alessandra Buonanno, Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, Germany Thibault Damour, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (IHÉS), France Frans Pretorius, Princeton University, USA Saul Teukolsky, Caltech and Cornell University, USA The four physicists have received the medal for establishing the predicted properties of gravitational waves in the curvature of spacetime produced when stars or black holes spiral together and merge. Their work was essential for the detection of gravitational waves from these energetic astronomical events by the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO). Alessandra Buonanno is the second woman to receive the Dirac Medal in its nearly 40-year history. The feature article is available at:

The 2021 Dirac Medal and Prize Ceremony will take place on Thursday 14 July at 15.00 hrs in the Budinich Lecture Hall @ ICTP. All are welcome to attend. More information and a programme outline will be available in due course.
The 2021 Dirac Medal and Prize Ceremony takes place during the Summer School on Cosmology 2022 | (smr 3720). For more information on the School, see: